The C-Men’s MySpace Page

Is here, for anyone who cares.

May I gush, in a rather Ed Grimley-ish way?

The C-Men MySpace site now been befriended by two of my all-time favourite bands, D.O.A. and Propagandhi. 

For those of you not in the know, D.O.A. is legendary in Canada.  They’re now in their 30th year (though the line-up has changed, with only the founder and demi-god Joey “Shithead” Keithley being constant.)  I first heard them way back in high school, in my friend Tim Nearing’s basement.  He put on “War on 45“…and that was it: I was hooked.  I still am.  “I’m RIght, You’re Wrong,” “I Hate You” or “I Am Canadian” still put a smile on my face and a riff in my head every time I hear them.  Read more about them here and here.

Further living proof of Canada’s musical pedigree is Propagandhi a “progressive thrash” band from Winnipeg.  I think I have everything they’ve ever done.  I first heard of them while reading a review of their album (I think it was “LessTalk, More Rock”) on a great site know as Ruthless Reviews.  The guys at Ruthless have never let me down in their reviews of movies, thought I, so this album that they’re praising to the skies must be good.  I bought it and it was more than good:  it changed my life, in a way.  Alas, I’ve never seen them live, so please Propagandhi, find a way to come within a few hundred miles of Ukraine on your next European trip.

Read a much more eloquent description of Propagandhi (plus great photos, interview, etc.) here.

There was a time in the late 80s-early 90s that I thought the best music in the world was coming out of Canada.  There were so many extraordinary bands playing.  Then, it seemed as though we were Celine Dion-ned into submission.  I’m cautiously optimistic that Canada’s going through another great musical renaissance.  And no – not because of Nickelback.

Leave a Reply

